Meet the IMA Board of Directors

IMA Executive Board of Directors

President; Associate Director of Student Engagement, Florida Southwestern State College; IMA Certified Consultant

Catherine Cordova, Ph.D.

Catherine Cordova, Ph.D., is the Associate Director of Student Engagement at Florida SouthWestern State College. In her position, she promotes mentoring practices by overseeing the Peer Mentor Program and its incorporation in a first-year seminar course. She has been creating and directing mentoring programs for the past 6 years. Through her oversight, peer mentor programs were initiated in 3 living-learning communities, 3 academic programs, the student-athlete learning center, and a library support program at Florida Gulf Coast University. Catherine continues researching and learning about mentoring best practices and has earned her Ph.D. at the University of South Florida. She is IMA President, and an IMA Certified Mentoring Consultant.
President-Elect; CEO, Center for Mentoring Excellence; Founder, Vista Coaching

Lisa Z. Fain, J. D.

Lisa Fain is the CEO of Center for Mentoring Excellence and a global speaker on the power of mentoring to create inclusive workplaces. A former management-size employment attorney and corporate DEI leader, Lisa is driven by her belief that creating working relationships across difference make for better lives, better workplaces and a better world. She lives in Seattle, WA and loves to explore the US Pacific Northwest with her husband and two teenage daughters.
Secretary-Treasurer; Clinical Psychologist & Distinguished Professor, University of Florida (UF) College of Dentistry and Director of the UF Pain Research & Intervention Center of Excellence.; Director, The Mentor Academy in the Clinical and Translational Science Institute.

Roger Fillingim, Ph.D.

Roger B. Fillingim, PhD is a Distinguished Professor in the University of Florida (UF) College of Dentistry and Director of the UF Pain Research & Intervention Center of Excellence. Also, in an effort to build a culture at UF that values excellence in mentoring, in 2013 Dr. Fillingim established the University of Florida Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s (CTSI) Mentor Academy, which provides training for faculty in best mentoring practices. Dr. Fillingim has a longstanding commitment to mentoring and has successfully mentored numerous graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty members. He also directs an institutional training grant that supports postdoctoral training in pain and aging research and leads the UF Center for Advancing Minority Pain and Aging Science, which supports career development for early career faculty members conducting pain and again research. In 2016, he was recognized for his mentoring contributions when he received the University of Florida, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, Postdoc Mentoring Award.

IMA Board of Directors

Kathleen Sciarappa, Ph.D.

Mentor Training Facilitator; National Certified Mentor

151 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02111
Ratified August 2019


Nancy Phenis-Bourke, Ed.D.

Past President

National Association of Elementary School Principals Mentor Coach; Active member on public and private nonprofit boards; IMA Mentor Training Coordinator and Facilitator
6471 S Fox Chase,
Pendleton, IN 46064


Julie Fredenburg

Chair, Accreditation Committee

Julie Fredenburg
Champaign, IL
Ratified 2016-2020, 2020-2024


Brenda Marina, Ph.D.

Past President; Retired Higher Education Professor and Administrator; Peer reviewer for the International Journal of Mentoring and Coaching in Education


Linda Searby, Ph.D.

Past Secretary-Treasurer; Associate Clinical Professor of Educational Leadership, University of Florida


Donna Augustine-Shaw, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Dept. of Educational Leadership Kansas State University & Associate Director, Kansas Educational Leadership Institute (KELI)

Ratified March 2018
2535 Dundee Ln.
Salina, KS 67401


David Clutterbuck, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor of Coaching & Mentoring, Henley Business School, Oxford Brookes, Sheffield Hallam, York St. John, UK; Distinguished Fellow, Th Conference Board; Co-Dean, Global Team Coaching Institute; Practice Lead, Coaching and Mentoring International

Ratified December 2013
Woodlands, Tollgate, Maidenhead,
Berks UK SL6 4 LJ


Andrea Engler, Ed.D.

Senior Executive Director of Student Transitions and Success, Indiana University/Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI)

Ratified 2017-2021, 2021-2025
815 W. Michigan Street UC 2001D
Indianapolis, IN 46202


Robert Garvey, Ph.D.

Managing Partner, The Lio Partnership

Ratified November 2014
13 Blakeney Place
York YO10 3HZ

Skype: robert.garvey7
Twitter: RobertGarvey6


Carol Riley

Past Secretary-Treasurer 2014-2016; 2016-Retired Associate Executive Director-National Association of Elementary School Principals; 2020 IMA Conference Chair;

Ratified 2013-2017, 2018-2022
15221 Fog Mountain Circle
Haymarket, VA 20169


Laura Lunsford, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Psychology, Campbell University, Buies Creek, NC.

Ratified 2017-2021, 2021-2025
Taylor Hall 205, P.O. Box 369
Buis Creek, NC 27506


Miriam Marguerita Gomez Witmer, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Educational Foundations; Director, Color of Teaching Mentoring Program, Millersville University, Millersville, PA

Ratified November 2017
Stayer 405
Millersville University
Millersville, PA 17551 USA


Ben Kutsyuruba, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Educational Policy, Leadership, and School Law

Queens University, Ontario, Canada

Duncan Hall, A 324

Kingston, Ontario, Canada K7M 5R7


Audrey Murrell, PhD

Professor of Business Administration, Psychology, Public and International Affairs, University of Pittsburgh

Ratified August 2021


International Ambassador Members

Anna Sofia Saldanha

International Ambassador Member; Professional Translator, Translation, Proofreading, Editing, Post-Editing, and Mentoring; English, Spanish, & Portuguese

Ratified December 2018


Jane Lewes

International Ambassador Member; Director, The Learning Consultancy, Wales, UK.

Ratified January 2020


Ajay Kelkar

International Ambassador Member;Co-Founder Hansa Cequity.PCC; Leadership Coach. Mumbai, India


Nigel Cumberland

Nigel is the co-Founder of The Silk Road Partnership and is a corporate mentor, executive coach and facilitator who has worked with leaders in the United Nations, The World Bank Group, Fortune 500 groups including Google, Dell and Standard Chartered Bank, as well as in the Public Sectors of countries such as the UAE.

Ratified November 2020


Meenalochani Kumar (Meena Kumar)

Learning & Leadership development, Organization Development, Business HR

Ratified November 2020


Lyle Hamm (Steamer)

Lyle “Steamer” Hamm is an associate professor of educational administration and leadership in the Faculty of Education at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton.

Ratified August 2021


Kinga Káplár-Kodácsy, PhD

Kinga Káplár-Kodácsy PhD is assistant professor at Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE), Hungary, Faculty of Education and Psychology, Institute of Research on Adult Education and Knowledge Management.

Ratified August 2021


National Ambassador Members

Eric McCloud, Ed.D.

Dr. Eric McCloud is a diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) researcher, strategist, and facilitator.

National Ambassador; Ratified August 2021


Sherella Cupid, Ph.D

Postdoctoral Researcher at Louisiana State University

National Ambassador; Ratified August 2021


Emeritus Board Of Directors

Dr. Vernon Allwood

Dr. Nathan Avani

William Brescia

Dr. Marcia Canton

Dr. Linda Coy

Jesse Dansbe

Maurice T. Davis

Dr. Nora Dominguez

Truls Engstrom

Jan Hall

Dr. David James

Dr. Frances Kochan

Margo Murray

Dr. Charles Allen Sadberry, Sr.

Dr. Linda Stromei

Martha Warfield

Dr. Katherine Wilcox

Dr. Nancy Phenis-Bourke